HIS 117:Pierog

Books/Films In Our Library Collections

• Feminism and women's rights worldwide
• The unfinished revolution: voices from the global fight for women's rights
• Gender equality and development
• Her Story (BBC series about life for women around the world)
• A history of women's suffrage around the world (short film)
• The fight for women's rights (PBS film)
• Half the sky (film about women's rights in China)
• The American Women's Rights Movement: 1600-2008
• Feminist manifestos: A global documentary reader

Online Resources

• Women's rights resources program
• Human rights of women: a collection of international and regional normative instruments
• Women's studies: a curated list of sites
• Key facts about women's suffrage around the world

Books/Films in Library Collections

• Hitler's American Model
• Breeding Contempt: The history of forced sterilization in the United States
• The Nazi Connection: Eugenics, American Racism and German National Socialism
• War Against the Weak: Eugenics and America's Campaign to Create a Master Race
• The Eugenics Crusade (PBS - American Experience)
• The warsaw diary of Adam Czerniakow (in processing - available soon)
• Hasidic Tales of the holocaust

Online Resources 

• The Connection Between American Eugenics and Nazi Germany
• Holocaust Memorial Museum - Nazi Racial Science
• The Long Shadow of Eugenics in America (NYTimes in depth article)
• German Propaganda Archive
• Eugenics Archive  (image archive and more from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory)
• The Eugenics Archives (a Canadian archive, covers American law as well)

Articles in Library Databases

• The Nazis and the American South in the 1930s: A mirror image?
• Racial Purity Laws in the United States and Nazi Germany: The targeting process
• Racism and Sexism in Nazi Germany: Motherhood, Compulsory Sterilization, and the State

Books/Films In Our Library Collections

• World religions: from ancient history to the present
• Religion in world history
• Meta-religion: religion and power in world history
• Dreaming in the world's religions: a comparative history
• Religion and science: historical and contemporary issues
• Religion as an agent of change
• A fatal addiction: War in the name of God
• Sex and religion: teachings and taboos in the history of world faiths
• The scientific revolution: a brief history with documents
• Christianity in the twentieth century: a world history
• The politics of religion in South and Southeast Asia

Online Resources

• Religion in World History (Select the 'Resources' links across time to use this for brainstorming purposes--it is not an in-depth exploration but provides general information about the major religious ideas and influence of major faiths across world history or major eras within it. There are timelines, discussions of religious diffusion and adaptation processes, and effective ways to study religions and their influence on art, culture, and society.
• Mapping Religion in World History (Many maps showing the movement and influence of world religions. Select those maps that cover the period covered in this class: 1500-present)
• The Database of Religious History - From the University of British Columbia, a gateway to reliable, comprehensive knowledge concerning the history of religions around the world, and cultural history more generally.

Books/Films In Our Library Collections

• Yanomami: From Machetes to Mobile Phones
• The falling sky: words of a Yanomami shaman
• In the way of development : Indigenous peoples, life projects, and globalization
• Native Brazil : beyond the convert and the cannibal, 1500-1900
• Native and national in Brazil: indigeneity after independence
• Solomon islanders in WWII: an Indigenous perspective
• New worlds of indigenous resistance
• Equal subjects, unequal rights : Indigenous peoples in British settler colonies, 1830-1910
• Our history is the future : Standing Rock versus the Dakota Access Pipeline, and the long tradition of Indigenous resistance
• Indigenous People
• Peoples of the earth: ethnonationalism, democracy, and the Indigenous challenge in "Latin" America
• Remembrance of Pacific Pasts
• Encyclopedia of World Cultures
• Indigenous homelessness: perspectives from Canada, Australia and New Zealand
• Returns: becoming Indigenous in the 21st century
• Indigenous nations and modern states: the political emergence of nations challenging state power
• Indigenous experience today

Online Resources

• American Indian Digital History Project
• World Bank: Indigenous Peoples
• Indigenous Peoples at the United Nations
• Special Rapporteur on the rights of Indigenous Peoples (UN)

Books/Films in Our Library Collections 

• Profit: an environmental history
• What is environmental history?
• The Environment and World History
• The polar regions: an environmental history
• Encyclopedia of American environmental history
• An environmental history of Russia
• A companion to global environmental history
• The Oxford handbook of environmental history
• An environmental history of Latin America
• The retreat of the elephants: an environmental history of China
• The holocene: an environmental history
• Last call
• Planet Oil
• Little Ice Age: Big Chill
• The future of nature: documents of global change

Online Resources

• Learning to do Environmental History Research - with sources
• Environment and Society Portal
• Environmental History Resources
• Georgetown Environmental History