What are primary sources?
A primary source is a first-hand account of an event or time period that was created by the participants or observers. Primary sources enable historians to stand as close to the past as possible without actually being present at the event.
Examples of primary sources include:
- Original documents such as letters, manuscripts, diaries, speeches
- Autobiographies & memoirs
- Artifacts from researched time period such as clothing, tools, etc.
- Records from governmental agencies & non-governmental organizations
- Photographs and other audio-visual materials
- Newspaper articles & books that are contemporaneous to the time under study
- Maps
- Court cases
Guide to Primary Sources (below)
Recommended Resources For Locating Primary Sources
- Milestone Documents in World History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents in world history. Includes an analysis of all full text documents. If you experience any accessibility problems with this resource including color contrast, alt-text, or keyboard navigation please contact a librarian for assistance. - Modern World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the broad expanse of world history from the mid-15th century to the present, featuring thousands of documents, articles, timelines, images, videos, and maps. - American History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to scholarly articles, JSTOR contains a wealth of primary source materials. - American Indian History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers fast access to more than 600 Native American groups and over 15,000 years of American Indian culture and history. - Milestone Documents in African American History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Important primary source documents in African American history. Includes an analysis of the full text documents. If you experience any accessibility problems with this resource including color contrast, alt-text, or keyboard navigation please contact a librarian for assistance.
- American Women's History OnlineThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsMore than 40 collections featuring historical photos, maps, documents, letters, speeches, recordings, videos, prints, and more.
- The National ArchivesThe National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. The Archives contain a growing digital collection and holds documents, artifacts, maps, audio files, and more.
