Health Sciences Resources

The online catalog provides a listing of all books and media owned by the library. You can search the catalog from computers in the library, campus computer labs, or remote locations via the Books/Media tab on the SUNY Broome Library website. Most books about medical assisting are located in the “R” section of the collection.

Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment [Reserves RC71 .C87 2022]
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions [R121 .M89 2022]
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference [ebook, also RB38.2 .P337 2015]
Stedman's Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms & Symbols [R123 .S69 2013]
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary [ebook, also R121 .T33 2017]

ebooks

You can access electronic books through the SUNY Broome Library web page.

eBook Search   Searches our ProQuest Ebook Central and EBSCO ebook collections
Gale eBooks Specializied encyclopedias
STAT!Ref Nursing books, including Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses 

The library subscribes to a number of online databases, which can be used to search for magazine and journal articles on your topic, including full text for some of the articles. To access these databases, click on “Complete list of databases” under the “Search” heading on the SUNY Broome library homepage, then click on “Health and Medicine.”

***Note: From off-campus, you will need to enter your MyCollege login.

CINAHL Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature
Medline
Science Direct
PubMed
PubMed is a freely accessible index to dental and medical journals from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. There are excellent tutorials and a QuickStart Guide available on the PubMed website.