Professional engineering associations often provide technical reports and other types of information through their web sites. Here are a few of the main ones:
The Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), established in 1958, is an agency within the Department of Defense (DOD) responsible for catalyzing the development of technologies that maintain and advance the capabilities and technical superiority of the U.S. military.
Find scientific and technical content published by IEEE and its partners. Make sure to select "Open Access" on the left side of the search results to get full text. Includes journal and magazines articles, conference documents, and more
Langley is known for solving the tough problems in air, space and earth science. Its reputation for exceptional research started soon after Langley was established as the United States' first civilian aeronautics laboratory in 1917.
Researchers at Langley focus on some of the biggest technical challenges of our time: global climate change, access to space and revolutionizing airplanes and the air transportation system.
The Air Force Research Laboratory's Materials and Manufacturing Directorate develops materials, processes, and advanced manufacturing technologies for aircraft, spacecraft, missiles, rockets, and ground-based systems and their structural, electronic and optical components.
At Berkeley Lab’s Materials Sciences Division, we advance the fundamental science of materials within the context of global energy-related challenges. We develop experimental and theoretical techniques to design, discover, and understand new materials and phenomena at multiple time and length scales
This site is the internet hub of the Materials Research Science and Engineering Centers (MRSEC), a network of Centers located at academic institutions throughout the United States, funded by the National Science Foundation. This website provides organized connections to information and resources at the various MRSECs for the international scientific, industrial, and educational materials research and development communities.
The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) goals call for increasing the efficiency and productivity of energy use, while limiting the environmental impacts. In support of these goals, Argonne’s Transportation Technology Research and Development Center (TTRDC) brings together scientists and engineers from many disciplines to find cost-effective solutions to the problems of foreign oil dependency and greenhouse gas emissions.
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private, non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the U.S. voluntary standards and conformity assessment system. Founded in 1918, the Institute works in close collaboration with stakeholders from industry and government to identify and develop standards- and conformance-based solutions to national and global priorities.
Provides free access to Military, Department of Defense, Federal, NASA, DOE, and Government specifications, standards, handbooks, and publications which are in the public domain.
IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. Often the central source for standardization in a broad range of emerging technologies, the IEEE Standards Association has an active portfolio of nearly 1,200 standards and more than 900 projects under development. This includes the prominent IEEE 802® standards for local, metropolitan, and other area networks, including Ethernet and Wireless LAN (commonly referred to as Wi-Fi®).
ISO is derived from the Greek 'isos', meaning equal. ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 167 national standards bodies. Through its members, it brings together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market relevant International Standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges.
Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, find information and publications from NIST's major labs - including engineering - and programs.
The C.R.A A..P. Test* is a way to evaluate sources in four main categories:
Is the resource from an appropriate time?
Can you depend on the information and trust it to be accurate?
Can you trust the source the information comes from?
The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content.
What is the author's motivation for publishing the resource?
*The test was developed by librarians at California State University.
For Materials Science: Includes general and career information, as well as an interactive periodic table showing how elements are used in engineering
This is a reference site for college-levels engineering content designed for practicing engineers.
Engineering360 is the world's largest online destination for engineers, delivering the single source for critical engineering content, information, insight, tools and community for engineers and technical professionals across multiple industries and disciplines.
Find scientific and technical content published by IEEE and its partners. Make sure to select "Open Access" on the left side of the search results to get full text. Includes journal and magazines articles, conference documents, and more.
"MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."
NTRS provides public access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. It includes conference proceedings, journal articles, technical reports, oral/visual presentations, and more.
"The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, which produce more than 200 reports and proceedings each year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine providing authoritative, independent advice on important matters in science and health policy."
A part of the National Science Foundation focused on the "collection, interpretation, analysis, and dissemination of objective data on the science and engineering enterprise."
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) helps federal agencies make better decisions about data, with data. We provide the support and structure that helps our partners securely store, analyze, sort, and aggregate data in new ways. We use our private-sector partners’ knowledge to create new ways of using data to solve problems. Our Joint Venture program works side-by-side with universities, nonprofits and industry professionals — together, they can experiment with data science technologies before they’re available in the marketplace.
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
The USPTO website has patents from 1790 to the most current submissions in full-text.
Offers international coverage, though not comprehensive.
