Evidence-Based Practice
Evidence-based practice is the "integration of the best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values."
Sackett, Strauss, Richardson, et al., as cited in Maher, Sherrington, Elkins, Herbert, & Mosely, 2004, Challenges for evidence-based physical therapy: Accessing and interpreting high-quality evidence on therapy, Physical Therapy, 84(7), p. 645.
Evidence-Based Practice Pyramid Evidence increases in quality as you go up the pyramid.
Understanding EBP Articles & Terms
- Bandolier Glossary Index"Links to definitions for the jargon words often used in medicine and the numbers and statistics used to describe it. The glossary includes terms used in epidemiology, in clinical trials, in diagnosis, in statistics, and in health economics."
How to Read a Paper by ISBN: 0727915789Publication Date: 2000-12-27In this work, Trisha Greenhalgh provides the basics of evidence based medicine: how to find a medical research paper, assess it for its scientific validity, and where relevant, put the findings into practice.
Resources to Find Evidence-Based Dentistry Information
- ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry Clinical Practice Guidelinesresources to aid dental professionals in clinical decision making and help incorporate evidence gained through scientific investigation into patient care
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)TIP: Enter your search terms and under "Limit Your Results" select "evidence based care sheet" or "practice guidelines" or "systematic review" from the Publication Type drop-down menu. Contains citations, abstracts, plus access to full-text articles in over 700 for nursing and allied health journals.
- Journal of Evidence Based Dental PracticeArticles in this journal advocate for the use or rejection of a procedure based on solid, clinical evidence found in literature.
- MedlineCheck the box for "EBM Reviews" under the search options, or limit your search to Publication Type "Meta-Analysis" CTRL+"Randomized Controlled Trial"
- PubMedSearch engine for medical and dental literature
Suggested Search Limits:
English language
Published in last 5 years
Article Types: Meta-Analysis, Randomized Controlled Trials - Cochrane Library ReviewsThe Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
Locate full text of articles in Pubmed or the Library's discovery tool, Primo. Interlibrary loan articles quickly and for free.
