CLT 201W - Hematology

Books

Our library catalog allows you to search for books that we own, and books that you can borrow from another library.  If your search does not yield many results, try searching  "Other Libraries"   Click the "Get It" button to borrow the book from another library.

Hematology Reference Books

Fischbach, F. T., & Fischbach, M. A. (2018). A manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests (10th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer. [Ref RB38.2 .M36 2018]

Harmening, D. (2009). Clinical hematology and fundamentals of hemostasis (5th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Davis. [Ref RB145 .C536 2009]

McKenzie, S. B., & J. L. Williams. (2010).Clinical laboratory hematology (2nd ed.). Boston, MA: Pearson. [Ref RB45 .M385 2010]

Pagana, K. D., Pagana, T. J., & Pagana, T. N. (2015). Mosby's diagnostic and laboratory test reference (15th ed.). St. Louis, MO: Mosby. ebook, 12th ed. [Ref RB38.2 .P337 2015]

Turgeon, M. L. (2018). Clinical hematology: Theory and procedures (5th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Wolters Kluwer. [On Reserve CLT 201]

Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library)  Includes medical dictionaries & encyclopedias
Stat!Ref  Includes medical dictionaries, drug guides and other medical sources, such as Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications (2019)

Articles

From the library homepage, click either the "databases" or "complete list of databases" links. Under "databases by subject", click "Health and Medicine".  Recommended databases:

CINAHL Plus
Tip:  Search <your disorder> AND diagnosis.  Use the date slider to limit your results to the last 5 years.
For case studies,  limit Publication Type to "Case Study".
MEDLINE with Full Text

Recommended Journals

If your instructor has recommended that you use specific journals for your assignments, you can find them using the "Journal A-Z" tab on the library homepage.

A few recommended journals for hematology are:

Clinical Laboratory Science
Medical Laboratory Observer (MLO)