Literature and Its Times - Great Place to Start
"Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American." GLRC
- link to search the e-content
- from here you can search within publication (box on upper right)
- includes:
- Beowulf
- Morte d'Arthur
- Canterbury Tales
- Pride and Prejudice
- Frankenstein
- Mrs. Dalloway (reference to)
- includes:
- from here you can search within publication (box on upper right)
Salem Press Selected E-Resources
SUNY Broome Library's Salem Press literature collection includes the following e-books:
- Critical Insights: Frankenstein, Or, the Modern Prometheus
- Critical Insights: The Canterbury Tales
- Critical Insights: The Harry Potter Series
- Critical Insights: Mrs. Dalloway
- Critical Insights: Pride and Prejudice
- Critical Insights: Dickens, Charles
- Critical Insights: Lewis, C. S.
- Critical Insights: Shelley, Mary
- Critical Insights: Wilde, Oscar
- Critical Insights: Virginia Woolf and 20th Century Women Writers
- Notable Crime Fiction Writers
- includes:
- Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays
- Introduction to Literary Context: English Literature
- includes:
- Introduction to Literary Context: World Literature
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Gale Literature - Excellent Place to Search
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A literature database that includes: literary criticism, biographies, topic & work overviews, primary sources, literary works, and multimedia.
- direct link to Person Search in Gale Literature
- you can do your author search here
- enter author's name in "Person Search" box, then search
- on the next screen, under "NAMES," select your author
- next on the "SHOWING RESULTS FOR" screen, select a tab, e.g., Biographies
- you can do your author search here
- direct link to Works Search in Gale Literature
- you can search for a particular work here
- enter the work's title in the "Works Search" box, then search
- on the next screen, under "Work," select the work you are researching
- next on the "SHOWING RESULTS FOR" screen, select a tab, e.g., Topic & Work Overviews
Gale Literature Resource Center
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles.
Beowulf - Example Searches
Primo (Library's discovery tool) search results for:
beowulf
AND
context
Primo (Library's discovery tool) search results for:
beowulf
Note, to narrow/focus the above searches:
- on the left-side of the results page under "Refine your results," scroll down to "Subject"
- open up "Show More"
- and further select to refine your search
A Companion to Beowulfebook
Perhaps the most important work written in Old English, Beowulf grew out of a culture very different from ours, and yet its story of war, violence, and heroism remains relevant to modern readers. Accessible to high school students, general readers, and undergraduates, this companion overviews the poem and its legacy. The initial chapters review the plot of Beowulf, while later chapters discuss its style and language, its cultural and historical contexts, and its afterlife in contemporary popular culture.The first part of the book provides information of interest to a wide range of readers, while the second covers more specialized topics. Thus the initial chapters review the merits of different translations and offer a detailed plot summary, while later chapters discuss the poem's language and style, its treatment of religion, its relation to Anglo-Saxon culture, and its legacy in popular culture. One of the greatest Beowulf scholars was J.R.R. Tolkien, and the book gives special attention to his use of the poem in his own fiction. High school students, undergraduates, and general readers will find this book a valuable guide to one of the most challenging yet enduring works of English literature.
London Labour and the London Poor - Henry Mayhew - Example Search
Primo (Library's discovery tool) search results for:
"London Labour and the London Poor"
(limited by: Mayhew, Henry; London Labour And The London Poor; Articles)
The Other Empireebook
This is a detailed study of the various ways in which London and India were imaginatively constructed by British observers during the nineteenth century. This process took place within a unified field of knowledge that brought together travel and evangelical accounts to exert a formative influence on the creation of London and India for the domestic reading public. Their distinct narratives, rhetoric and chronologies forged homologies between representations of the metropolitan poor and colonial subjects - those constituencies that were seen as the most threatening to imperial progress. Thus the poor and particular sections of the Indian population were inscribed within discourses of western civilization as regressive and inferior peoples. Over time these discourses increasingly promoted notions of overt and rigid racial hierarchies, of which a legacy still remains. Drawing upon cultural and intellectual history this comparative study seeks to rethink the location of the poor and India within the nineteenth-century imagination.
- Once you access this ebook, go to "read online."
- Then in the "search within book" box try the following searches:
- "London Labour and the London Poor"
- Mayhew
Morte d'Arthur - Example Search
Primo (Library's discovery tool) search results for:
"morte d'arthur"
Note, to narrow/focus the above search:
- on the left-side of the results page under "Refine your results," scroll down to "Subject"
- open up "Show More"
- and further select to refine your search
