Skip to Main Content

Foreign Language & Translation - Research Resources

Selected Resources

Foreign Language Databases

Informe Academico  provides indexing, full text, and images of the most popular Spanish language magazines and bilingual periodicals. Provides access to the full text of more than 140 Spanish language and bilingual products, covering a wide range of subject matter from current events to academic interests. Features bilingual citations to help non-Spanish speaking navigate easily through the database. 

Searching Primo - The Library's Discovery Tool

Primo searches most of the Library's databases at once. You can search it for articles, e-books, books, media, and more. You can also set a language filter.

  • After you enter your search, on the results page, you can set the "Language" filter.

 

Example Searches In Primo For Study And Teaching Materials

  • access Primo from the Library's home page
  • use "Advanced Search"
  • change "Any field" to "Subject" (drop-down menu), then enter search in corresponding box:
    • examples:
      • Spanish language -- Study and teaching
      • Italian language -- Study and teaching
      • Second language acquisition
      • English language -- Study and teaching -- Foreign speakers

Periodicals

  • TESOL Quarterly  Online and Print
  • To find electronic journals using Primo (the Library's Discovery Tool):
    • access Primo from the Library's home page
    • use "Advanced Search"
    • change "Any field" to "Subject" (drop-down menu), then enter search in corresponding box:
      • examples:
        • Spanish language -- Study and teaching
        • Italian language -- Study and teaching
        • Second language acquisition
        • English language -- Study and teaching -- Foreign speakers
        • then ...
        • for electronic journals, include another "Subject" search line with:  electronic journals

​

Database Platforms With Foreign Language Materials/Translation Tools

The Library has a broad subject range of databases on the EBSCO and GALE platforms. When you access a database, note the logo, and see notes below:  

Databases

  • EBSCO Platform - Most of the databases on this platform have language options for 1) interface language and 2) translation tools. Some databases have materials in foreign languages. ***Note the message regarding accuracy of translation tools.***
  1. Interface language.
  • in the selected database, on the top bar, right side, there is a "Languages" drop-down menu

​

  1. "Language" option; this will retrieve articles in the language selected.
  • use the "Advanced Search"
  • under "Search Options" look for "Language"
  • ​(Note: To obtain more results, do a search without selecting the language option, and then use the translation tool - see # 3 below.)

  1. Articles with an HTML option, have the translation tool on the article's detailed record. ***Note the message regarding accuracy of translation tools.***

  • Gale Platform - Interface language and/or translation tool​​.
  1. The language of the interface can be changed. On the top bar, right side, look for:

  1. When you access an article, look for the translation tool. ***Note the message regarding accuracy of translation tools.***

 

 

D. Curtin 3/27/2020