Chemistry

Library home page (http://www.sunybroome.edu/library)

• Books: Search for books on the “books/media” tab.  Many of the chemistry books are on the second floor of the library, near the old elevator.
• Articles: Search for articles on the “articles” tab.  (If you are off-campus, it will ask you for your MyCollege login information.)
• Interlibrary loan: If we don’t have the book or article you need, we will borrow it from another library for you.  For free.  Books can take up to a week to get here; articles take 2-3 days.
• Help:
  • Reference Desk: 607-778-5043
  • Me: Amanda Hollister, L202, hollisteraj@sunybroome.edu

Our library catalog allows you to search for books that we own, and books that you can borrow from another library.  If your search does not yield many results, try changing your search terms, or click on "other libraries" in the drop down menu.

Click the “get it” button to borrow the book from another library.

Reference Works

• The Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra: Ref QD96 .I5 P67 1981
• The Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra: Ref QD96 .N8 P68 1983
• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics: Ref QD65 .H3 2017
• Perry’s Chemical Engineer’s Handbook: Ref TP151 .P45 2008
• Van Nostrand's encyclopedia of chemistry: Ref QD4 .V36 2005

Article Databases

• American Chemical Society - No full text, but you can put in an interlibrary loan request, or visit Binghamton University.

Journals

• Chemical & Engineering News - Current year on display, previous years at the Circulation desk.
• Chemical Engineering – 1987 to present
• Chemical Engineering Journal - 1997 to present
• Computational and Theoretical Chemistry - 2011 - present
• Journal of the American Chemistry Society - No full text, but you can put in an interlibrary loan request, or visit Binghamton University.
• Microporous and Mesoporous Materials - 2/1998 - present

Full list of chemistry journals

• ChemCollective – Interactive Chemistry learning tools from the National Science Foundation and Carnegie Mellon U.
• ChemIDPllus – Searchable chemical identification resource from the National Library of Medicine.
• ChemSpider – Access to over 20 million chemical structures and their properties.
• eMolecules – Open-access chemistry search engine to publicly available chemistry information.
• NIST Chemistry Portal - Standards, news and recent publications from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
• Periodic Table of Elements from the Los Alamos National Laboratory - http://periodic.lanl.gov/index.shtml
• The Periodic Table of Videos – A collection of video clips covering the 118 elements of the periodic table.
• WebElements – An interactive web site based on the Periodic Table of the Elements.

• American Chemical Society