Career Resources

• Occupational Outlook Handbook 
  • U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Information on hundreds of occupations including what they do, work environment, how to become one, pay, job outlook, state and area data, similar occupations, and links to sites for more information.
    • To find professional associations, try the "More Info" tab. (You can find this tab on the occupation web page you are on.)
• O*NET OnLine
  • You can browse for occupations or use a keyword search. There is also a link to a user-friendly page called, "My Next Move." O*NET OnLine and My Next Move are developed by the National Center for O*Net Development, and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment & Training Administration. O*Net OnLine is based on the use of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors.
    • To find professional associations, see "More Information" - "Professional Associations." (You can find this link on the occupation web page you are on; scroll down towards bottom of page.)
• CareerOneStop Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration.
  • "Explore Careers” to browse careers, or try the self assessment tools to match your skills and interests to an occupation.
  • "Compare Occupations" to compare salaries, skill requirements, typical education, and trends on the national, state, or local levels.  
  • "Find Training" to find the education and training you need for a particular career.
• New York State / Southern Tier Region Career Information:
  • CareerZone - Explore careers.
  • Labor Statistics for the Southern Tier Region
• Career, Transfer, & Bachelor Partnership Department - SUNY Broome

• The Library's Salem Press career collection includes the following ebooks:

• Tip: Aside from going to the individual career ebook, try your search in the box on the top left of the search page. This will bring up results from throughout our Salem ebook career collection. This will produce results that are interdisciplinary, that you may not have thought about.

• Careers in Archaeology & Museum Services
• Careers in Business
• Careers in Engineering
• Careers in Gaming
• Careers in Green Energy
• Careers in Hospitality & Tourism
• Careers in Illustration & Animation
• Careers in Protective Services
• Careers in Psychology & Behavioral Health
• Careers in Public Administration
• Careers in Social Media
• Careers in the Arts: Fine, Performing & Visual
• Careers in the Music Industry
• Careers in Transportation
• Careers in Writing & Editing
• Careers Outdoors
• Careers Working With Animals
• Careers Working With Infants & Children

The SUNY Broome Library's Salem Press collection.

• Databases for Careers
• SUNY Broome Library's Database Lists
  • check out the Databases by Subject list
    • in these subject groupings you can select databases more specific to your area of interest

• See this guide's navigation tab for "Career Resources - Websites." Check out entries for:
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
  • O*NET OnLine

• Try a Google search to find professional association websites. 
  • examples:
    • anthropology "professional organization"      (use quotations to search as a phrase, if the results are too limited remove the quotations)
    • anthropology "professional association"       (use quotations to search as a phrase, if the results are too limited remove the quotations)     
    • black physicists
    • women science 
  • once you access a website, look for information about who they are, some links to look for:
    • about
    • who we are
    • mission
    • home
    • are they a professional association, or another type of organization?
    • sponsors (is there a bias?)

• Note: some organizations try to sell things; are they trying to sell you something?

• Library guides for Evaluating Information and Media Literacy.

• Career, Transfer, & Bachelor Partnership Department - SUNY Broome

Primo, the Library's discovery tool, searches most of the Library's databases at once. Here you will find materials the SUNY Broome Library owns and/or has access to, as well as what other libraries have. The latter can be requested through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

You can access Primo from the Library's home page.

• How to Find an Article
• How to Find a Book

The following example shows you how to search Primo for articles (including peer-reviewed) and ebooks/books. Examples are also given for how to access these different types of resources.

Starting from the Library's home page:

• go to the Advanced Search

• search for "Almost Everything"
  • enter your terms in the search boxes
  • use quotations around phrases; single word terms do not need quotations around them
  • databases usually retrieve results that include the plurals of search terms
  • capitalize operators between terms and phrases: AND (narrows search), OR (broadens search)
  • use the * (asterisk) to get various endings of words, e.g., occupation* retrieves occupation, occupations, occupational
• some suggestions for terms and phrases:
  • "vocational guidance", career, occupation, "job satisfaction", "job hunting"

• on the results page refine your search
  • select publication dates, and other options as you choose, e.g., available online, peer-reviewed journals, articles, books

• you can refine your results further, e.g., subject(s)
  • sometimes one or two at a time, works best

• at the top of the filters column, you can see your active filters
  • the X will remove a filter
  • or you can reset

• to see more information on a search result, click on the blue title

• to access an article
  • select a database to retrieve it from, then follow the links to the article
  • note the DETAILS for more information on your selection
  • note the citation tool

• if your search result is an ebook or print book

• to access an ebook

• if your search result is a print book:
  • note the DETAILS for more information on your selection
  • note the citation tool