How do I find article links?
First, you'll need to find the article! (If you need help with that, let us know.)
Next, you need to find the "permalink." Database vendors use different names for this - stable URL, static URL, persistent link, etc.
Since each database does this differently, we've provided instructions for a few popular vendors. If you don't see the database / database vendor you're looking for, let us know and we'll add instructions!
Step 1: Search Primo
Primo is our discovery tool that can search multiple library resources at once. The search can also be limited to a specific type of resource.
Search Primo for the article you wish to link to in Brightspace:
Use the advanced search if you know the title and author. Click on the title of the result that you want to link to.
On the full results page, once you verify that this is the correct result, click on "Permalink" in the "Send to" section:
Step 2: Copy the permalink and paste into your course, syllabus, etc.:
Ebsco databases (includes Academic Search Complete, CINHAL, Medline, and many more):
Step 1: Perform a search within the database and click on an article link
Step 2: Copy permalink and paste into desired location:
Proquest databases (APA PsychArticles/Info, Women & Social Movements):
Step 1: Locate the article and click on the Abstract/Details tab next to the article title.
Step 2: Scroll down until you see the Document URL, and copy it.
Gale Databases (Academic OneFile, Gale eBooks, Opposing Viewpoints)
Step 1: Perform Search in Database and click on article/book link.
Step 2: Click on 'Get Link' and copy the permalink.
Step 1: Copy the article's stable URL located beneath the title on the left hand side of the page.
Step 2: Prepend the following proxy URL to the URL you copied: http://webster.sunybroome.edu:2048/login?url=
Example: http://webster.sunybroome.edu:2048/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24401973
How do I add these article links to Brightspace?
- Once you've copied your link, head to Brightspace.
- Navigate to the module you'd like to add the link to. Click Upload / Create, then Create a Link.
3. Enter a Title for the link (ex. the article title and last name of the author) and paste the database URL in the URL field.
Click Create - you're done!
4. Click Create - you're done!