Accessibility Tips for Library Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) is a streaming video platform.

Users of the Alexander Street Video Platform should be able to:

• Access captions and fully searchable transcripts for approximately 95% of all videos.
• Go directly to the main content areas on the page using skip links.
• Listen to most of the website using a screen reader.
• Navigate the website and control video playback using a keyboard or speech recognition software.
• Zoom in up to 400% using browser tools without text spilling off the screen.

Some Alexander Street Press videos have an audio description that has added narration to a video that describes on-screen images for the benefit of those with visual impairments. Each audio-described video has a separate non-audio-described version as well.ProQuest has already added audio descriptions to its most popular titles and will continue to add more upon request by a library at no charge. Let us know if you need this added to a video in AVON, and we can facilitate that request. ProQuest strives to complete all requests within 2-3 weeks. To find videos in Academic Video Online with audio descriptions, use the following search phrase: "with audio description"

Some performing arts videos have multilingual subtitles that can be selected by clicking the CC icon in the toolbar beneath the player window. Where only one language is available, clicking this icon will turn the subtitles on or off. Where multiple languages are available, clicking this icon will bring up a menu of available languages. Outside of the performing arts collections, most non-English videos include embedded English subtitles, which cannot be turned off.

• AVON accessibility page

• Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window

  Academic Video Online is a database with over 70,000 educational videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, and field recordings. The collection covers all major subject areas and provides useful features such as the ability to create custom clips and playlists that can be shared with other users. Available through SUNYConnect.

Kanopy provides both closed captioning and interactive transcripts on most films. Closed captioning can be toggled on and off using the "CC" button in the video player controls. Interactive transcripts can be opened by clicking the "Transcript" button immediately beneath the video player. The interactive transcripts highlight or underline the words as they are being spoken in the video. Please see Kanopy's explanation of their closed captioning and interactive transcript features for additional information.

Kanopy offers a Caption Request Tool for any videos that do not currently have captioning, providing any user with the ability to request that a film be captioned directly from the film page in question. Kanopy promises a rapid turnaround time for all caption requests. Patrons may also use the search filters on the results screen to limit their searches to videos that already provide captioning.

Kanopy uses its New Gen Player to improve the accessibility of its videos. It includes the following features:

• Works with screen readers on both desktop browsers and handheld devices.
• Allows for keyboard-only navigation
• Provides captions and interactive transcripts

• Kanopy accessibility page

• Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window

  Select a licensed video to stream.  If the film you seek is not licensed you can submit a request to purchase a license. A list of films available without request can be found on the library website: http://sunybroome.info/library/available-kanopy-films-expiration-dates