Need a hand? Reach out any time!
Process Tracing
Process Tracing is a method used in social sciences to understand and explain causal mechanisms and pathways over time. In the case of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) from 1923 to the present, it is possible to identify key hypotheses, causal-process observations and diagnostic evidence for the causal-process observations to illustrate the failure of its ratification.
For more information about what Process Tracing is and how to do it, see the video below:
Resources for ERA Process Tracing
Books/Films In Our Library Collections
- The Routledge historical atlas of women in America (physical book)
- Untold. The Equal Rights Amendment : a woman's prerogative (video)
- The encyclopedia of American political history (physical book)
- In the public interest : the League of Women Voters, 1920-1970 (physical book)
- The Rights of women : the basic ACLU guide to women's rights (physical book)
- Women's America : refocusing the past (physical book)
- Gendered citizenship : the original conflict over the Equal Rights amendment, 1920-1963 ebook
- History of women in the United States. Feminist struggles for sex equality : historical articles on women's lives and activities (ebook)
- The politics of women's rights parties, positions, and change (ebook)
- Women and the United States Constitution history, interpretation, and practice (ebook)
- Women's rights : documents decoded (ebook)
- Two paths to equality Alice Paul and Ethel M. Smith in the ERA debate, 1921-1929 (ebook)
- Encyclopedia of American social movements (ebook)
Articles in Library Collections
- Building support for the ERA: a case of "too much, too late"
- The ERA won–at least at opinion polls
- Attitudes toward the ERA: influence of class and status
- Social revolution and the Equal Rights Amendment
- As time goes by : the arrested diffusion of the ERA
- Why do formal amendments fail?: An institutional design analysis
- Why did the Iowa League of Women Voters oppose the Equal Rights Amendment during the 1940s and 1950s
Many articles are available in the 'Women and Social Movements Database'. Search results for the ERA can be found here
Online Resources
- The Equal Rights Amendment, 1972 | Records of Rights
- Martha Griffiths and the Equal Rights Amendment | National Archives
- https://www.archives.gov/files/legislative/features/griffiths/committee-report.pdf
- https://scholarship.law.nd.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=4828&context=ndlr
- Equal Rights Amendment: A Century of Speaking Out | The New York Public Library
- Equal Rights Amendment.org
- Ann Marie McKay interview- Women’s Equality Movement
- Alice Paul: Conversations with Alice Paul: Woman Suffrage and the Equal Rights Amendment
- Donna Novak Coles Georgia Women's Movement Archives (Georgia State University)
- ERA Oral History Project
- DPLA: Primary Source Set: The Equal Rights Amendment
- Draft of Testimony Written by Roxcy Bolton in Support of the Equal Rights Amendment
- ERA- Oral Histories Curriculum: Oral Histories and Photos
- Guide to ERA Related Collections (Georgia State University Library)
- National Organization for Women (NOW) brochure on the Equal Rights Amendment
- Phyllis Schlafly on women's role in society (audio)
- Phyllis Schlafly Report (see archives and navigate to appropriate period of time)
- Shirley Anita St. Hill Chisholm For the Equal Rights Amendment
- Washington State Archives - ERA Materials
- What’s Wrong With “Equal Rights” for Women?
- You Can't Fool Mother Nature - Stop the ERA
- “A condition we can ill afford”
- “All Our Problems Stem from the Same Sex Based Myths
- “An Amendment That Requires Both Sexes to Be Treated Equally”
- “Do We Discard Protective Legislation for Women?”
- “Not Protective but . . . Restrictive”:
- “Our Nation Needs the Fully Developed Resources of All Our Citizens”
- “We Lack a Firm Constitutional Basis for Equal Rights on the Basis of Gender”
Mexican-American War
Library Resources
- Foreigners in their own land (PBS)
- Colonial Racial Capitalism
- To the Halls of the Montezumas: The Mexican War in the American imagination
Online Resources
- Map of the United States of Mexico (used during discussions settling the Treaty of Hidalgo)
- The Treaty of Hidalgo
- President Polk's Message to Congress calling for war
- Rep. Joshua Giddings, Debate on the Mexican War in House of Representatives, 1846
- Library of Congress: Mexican War Resource Guide
- A continent divided:US-Mexican War
Ukraine & Russia
Library Resources
- Putin's War on History: the 1000 year struggle over Ukraine
- Putin's Wars: From Chechnya to Ukraine
- How Wars end: war terminations insight into Russia-Ukraine
- Contemporary Ukraine on the Cultural Map of Europe
- Russia’s War in Ukraine: Identity, History, and Conflict
Online Resources
- The roots of the Ukraine War: How the Crisis Developed (nytimes)
- Crisis in the Crimea: The Showdown Between Ukraine and Russia Story map - Following a change of government in Ukraine, Russian forces effectively seized control of the Crimea, an autonomous republic with historical ties to Russia. Explore locations and events in Crimea, and language differences in Crimea and throughout Ukraine.
- Ukraine crisis: Timeline (BBC)
- Ukraine crisis explained - in 60 seconds (BBC)
- Ukraine’s Path to Unrest (NYTimes)
- Global Conflict Tracker. War in Ukraine (Council on Foreign Relations)
- RAND Corporation (A collection of RAND research on the topic of Russia-Ukraine conflict.)
- Russian Invasion of Ukraine (CNN)
- A Timeline of Ukraine's History (National Public Radio)
- Ukraine (Official website of Ukraine)
- Ukraine Conflict Updates (Institute for the Study of War)
- Understanding the Russo-Ukrainian War (War on the Rocks)
- Russia's War in Ukraine: Identity, History, and Conflict (Center for Strategic & International Studies)
- Perspectives on Ukraine and the Russian Invasion (ECCO, Naval Postgraduate School, US Navy)
Search the Library
The selections of books, videos, and articles below are a small sample of available materials. Search the library catalog to find much more.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts. - American History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
