LibGuides: THR 246 Sec. 01 (for Donnelly) Spring 2023: Stage History

Link to Library's Website

Finding the stage history, also known as the production history or performance history, of a play takes some detective work!

An excellent description of a production history can be found here: Introduction to Dramaturgy: Production History

Resources to try:

Internet Broadway Database
Internet Off-Broadway Database (Lortel Archive)
Playbill.com
- try the search icon (magnifying glass) on top far right of page
- start to type in: You Can't Take It With You
  - notice your options as you type in the work's title

George S. Kaufman
- go to "Play Catalogue" link
  - under "Library of America Collection" click on "click here"
    - click on "You Can't Take It With You"
      - scroll down to "stage history"

Notes:

The coverage in New York Times (The) database is from the 1980s to present.
There is older coverage, back 150 years, accessible in the New York Times Digital Edition.
- at the very bottom of the web page go to the TimesMachine

New York Times (The) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times late edition. Coverage from 1980s though present.
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SUNY Broome faculty, students and staff can access The New York Times Digital Edition through an Academic Site License. Once you have created your account, you will be able to access the New York Times via the web or by mobile apps. (Does not include the crossword apps)

To register your sunybroome.edu or acad.sunybroome.edu email address:

1. Go to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
2. Search for and select SUNY Broome. You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
3. Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your sunybroome.edu or acad.sunybroome.edu email address
4. Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)*

Already registered? To receive a new one year pass:

1. Go to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
2. Search for and select SUNY Broome. You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
3. If you have previously registered your SUNY Broome email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" Log in here" link for Step 3.
4. Enter your sunybroome.edu or acad.sunybroome.edu email address & the password you created for this site.