Accessing SUNY Broome Library's E-Resources
When remotely accessing the Library's e-resources, you will get a SUNY Broome dialog box asking for your SUNY Broome (mycollege) username and password.
Link to Library's Website
Literature and Its Times
"Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American." GLRC
- link to search the e-content
Gale Literature
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowA literature database that includes: literary criticism, biographies, topic & work overviews, primary sources, literary works, and multimedia.
- direct link to Works Search in Gale Literature
- you can search for a particular work here
- enter the work's title in the "Works Search" box, then search
- on the next screen, under "Work," select the work you are researching
- next on the "SHOWING RESULTS FOR" screen, select a tab, e.g., Topic & Work Overviews, Literature Criticism
- direct link to Person Search in Gale Literature
- you can do your author search here
- enter author's name in "Person Search" box, search
- on the next screen, under "NAMES," select your author
- next on the "SHOWING RESULTS FOR" screen, select a tab, e.g., Biographies
- you can do your author search here
More Resources for Context
- Salem Press This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Salem Press's printed reference series. Coverage includes: literary criticism, science, history, primary sources, and careers. If you experience any accessibility problems with this resource including color contrast, alt-text, or keyboard navigation please contact a librarian for assistance.
- see Literature and History sections
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- see: Literature
- see: Biography
Poetry, Short Stories
The following resources provide context, analysis, and criticism of works. You can also search within all volumes (of the database) at once. See graphic for each.
"Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction." GLRC
"Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance." GLRC
Masterplots
- Masterplots
- Describes the work, analyzes themes and meanings, plus more.
Selected Resources
Latin American Literature and Its Times by Call Number: PN451 .W7 vol.1print book
(the titles of the works included in this book can be viewed by clicking on the title link above)
World Literature and Its Times helps students and researchers make connections between political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. Each volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country and region, representing approximately 50 works. The detailed essays are approximately 10 pages in length and offer the following features: Introductory profile -- an overview that discuss genre, time, place and other important elements with a synopsis and introduction that places the work in the context of the authors life Events in history -- a report on the social, political and cultural climate relevant to the work, including primary source documents, charts, timelines and other illustrative materials Literary work in focus -- three sections that place the work in context with an in-depth summary, related history and historical sources Sources for more information -- full citations offering additional sources of information Additional features include illustrations; maps; author and title tables of contents; sidebars; timelines; advisor information; and an alphabetical index of authors, titles, events and personalities. The series contains eight volumes covering the following literatures: Latin American literature African literature British & Irish literature (2 volumes - The Victorian Era to the
African Literature and Its Times by Call Number: PN451 .W7 vol.2print book
(the titles of the works included in this book can be viewed by clicking on the title link above)
World Literature and Its Times helps students and researchers make connections between political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. Each volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and nonfiction from a particular country and region, representing approximately 50 works. The detailed essays are approximately 10 pages in length and offer the following features: Introductory profile -- an overview that discuss genre, time, place and other important elements with a synopsis and introduction that places the work in the context of the authors life Events in history -- a report on the social, political and cultural climate relevant to the work, including primary source documents, charts, timelines and other illustrative materials Literary work in focus -- three sections that place the work in context with an in-depth summary, related history and historical sources Sources for more information -- full citations offering additional sources of information Additional features include illustrations; maps; author and title tables of contents; sidebars; timelines; advisor information; and an alphabetical index of authors, titles, events and personalities. The series contains eight volumes covering the following literatures: Latin American literature African literature British & Irish literature (2 volumes - The Victorian Era to the
Native North American Literature by Call Number: PS508 .I5 N38 1994print book
(authors included in this book can be viewed by clicking on the title link above)
A comprehensive source of bibliographical and critical information covering native American authors and other originators of literatures in the Native North American tradition. The book describes oral traditions as well as written literature.
American Writers by ebook
This collection of critical and biographical articles covers hundreds of notable authors from the 17th century to the present day. Signed essays, 12-15 pages in length by noted scholars, provide thought-provoking insights into the lives, careers and works of American writers. Each Supplement covers approximately 20 additional authors.
American Writers by print book
This collection of critical and biographical articles covers hundreds of notable authors from the 17th century to the present day. Signed essays, 12-15 pages in length by noted scholars, provide thought-provoking insights into the lives, careers and works of American writers. Each Supplement covers approximately 20 additional authors.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction by Call Number: PN3321 .C7 2001print book
This set in the Critical Survey Series looks at short fiction and the writers who left their mark on the genre. The series enables readers to focus on the characteristics of the author's work.
"Profiles more than four hundred authors of short fiction from around the world, presenting biographical and bibliographic information and summaries of major works. Also includes a reference volume with a chronology; a bibliography; lists of major award winners; twenty-nine essays on short-fiction history, theory, and world cultures; and three indexes." (Primo record)
- Salem Press - More Critical Surveys of different genres!
- see Literature section (on left)
- then scroll towards bottom of page
- see Literature section (on left)
