Skip to Main Content

POS 111 Sec. 01 (for McKenna) Spring 2023

Library research guide.

Finding Articles and Ebooks/Books in Primo

Primo, the Library's discovery tool, searches most of the Library's databases at once. Through Primo you can search for articles, ebooks/books, media, and more. Here you will find materials the SUNY Broome Library owns and/or has access to, as well as what other libraries have. The latter can be requested through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

You can access Primo from the Library's home page.

Two Databases Not Included in Primo Search: CQ Researcher, Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Two databases not included in Primo's search results are the CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints in Context (not to be confused with the Opposing Viewpoints Book Series). Both of these viewpoint databases look at different sides of issues and they may be helpful for this course assignment.

Librarian tip: check the article publication dates for context

You can access these databases here:

Searching Primo - Example Search - Finding/Accessing Articles and Ebooks/Books

Starting from the Library's home page:

  • go to "Advanced Search"

Primo, arrow to advanced search

 

 

  • search for "Almost Everything"
    • enter your terms in the search boxes
    • use quotations around phrases; single word terms do not need quotations around them
    • databases usually retrieve search results that include the plural of terms
    • use the * (asterisk) to get various endings of words, e.g., statistic* retrieves statistic, statistics, statistical, statistically
  • note: think of terms and phrases to use; some not so obvious suggestions:
    • statistics, alternative, solution, debate, argument, issues, advantage, disadvantage, controversy

Advanced search box. Arrows to: search for resource types, add a new line, search. Circled everything search. Use quotations to search as a phrase.

 

 

  • refine results
    • select publication dates, and other options as you choose, e.g., available online, peer-reviewed journals

Arrows to: refine your results, publication date. If needed, peer reviewed.

 

  • you can refine your results further, e.g., subject(s)
    • sometimes one or two at a time, works better

arrow to subject

select subjects, arrow to apply filters

 

  • you can select, now or later, your resource type(s)  

arrow to resource type

 

 

  • at the top of the filters column, you can see your active filters
    • the X will remove a filter
    • or you can reset

arrows to: active filters, x to remove a filter, reset filters

 

 

  • to see more information on a search result, click on the title

Resource type circled indicating book, article. Arrows to titles.

 

 

  • if your search result is an article
    • note the DETAILS for more information on your selection
    • select a database to retrieve it from, then follow the links to the article

See details for more information about article. Circled: view online, full text availability. Select database to retrieve article from. May be a choice of databases. Follow links to article.

 

  • if your search result is an ebook
    • note the DETAILS for more information on your selection
    • select a database to retrieve it from, then follow the links

Ebook example. Available online. See details for more information about ebook. Circled view online, full text availability. Select a database to retrieve ebook from, may be a choice, follow links to ebook.

 

  • if your search result is a print book
    • note the DETAILS for more information on your selection
    • check availability
    • note the citation tool

Print book record noted by on shelf, circulating. See details for more information about book. Check availability. Citation tool.