Accessing SUNY Broome Library's E-Resources
When remotely accessing the Library's e-resources, you will get a SUNY Broome dialog box asking for your SUNY Broome (mycollege) username and password.
Link to Library's Website
Literature and Its Context (select a tab below)
"Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American." GLRC
- link to search the e-content
For the following, if you look at the DETAILS of a book's record, you can view the title contents of the book to see if it has a chapter on the work you are researching.
-
-
(electronic format above)
-
- Salem Press This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Salem Press's printed reference series. Coverage includes: literary criticism, science, history, primary sources, and careers. If you experience any accessibility problems with this resource including color contrast, alt-text, or keyboard navigation please contact a librarian for assistance.
- see Literature collection
- see History collection
- includes: Great Events from History
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- see: Literature
- see: History
Ebook
- authors and works from 1945+ (published 2016)
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowA literature database that includes: literary criticism, biographies, topic & work overviews, primary sources, literary works, and multimedia.
- direct link to Person Search in Gale Literature
- you can do your author search here
- enter author's name in "Person Search" box, search
- on the next screen, under "NAMES," select your author
- next on the "SHOWING RESULTS FOR" screen, select the "Biographies" tab
- you can do your author search here
- Salem Press This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Salem Press's printed reference series. Coverage includes: literary criticism, science, history, primary sources, and careers. If you experience any accessibility problems with this resource including color contrast, alt-text, or keyboard navigation please contact a librarian for assistance.
- see Literature section
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Google search:
- example search: "authors name in quotations" interview
"j. k. rowling" interview
- it can be difficult to evaluate internet resources, see the library guides for Evaluating Information and Media Literacy, to help you out
Searching Google:
- Refine Web Searches - Google Search Help
- tips from the Help Center
- Better Searches. Better Results (Google)