Accessing SUNY Broome Library's E-Resources
When remotely accessing the Library's e-resources, you will get a SUNY Broome dialog box asking for your SUNY Broome (mycollege) username and password.
Link to Library's Website
Finding Literary Criticism (select a tab below)
- Salem Press This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Salem Press's printed reference series. Coverage includes: literary criticism, science, history, primary sources, and careers. If you experience any accessibility problems with this resource including color contrast, alt-text, or keyboard navigation please contact a librarian for assistance.
- Check out the Literature section, it includes:
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowA literature database that includes: literary criticism, biographies, topic & work overviews, primary sources, literary works, and multimedia.
- direct link to Works Search in Gale Literature
- you can search for a particular work here
- enter the work's title in the "Works Search" box, then search
- on the next screen, under "Work," select the work you are researching
- next on the "SHOWING RESULTS FOR" screen, select the "Literature Criticism" tab
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- see: Literature
Search Primo, found on the Library's home page. (searches most of the Library's databases at once)
- How to Find an Article (includes directions for interlibrary loan, in case we don't have the article you want)
- How to Find a Book (includes directions for interlibrary loan, in case we don't have the book you want)
Searching Primo
The following example uses the "Advanced Search."
- access Primo from the Library's home page
- go to the "Advanced Search" (see red arrow below)
- search for, select: "Almost Everything"
- then try a "subject" search
- in the first search line change "Any field" to "Subject" - drop-down menu - (see red oval below)
- note: in a "Subject" search the results are about the person; if you did an "Author/Creator" search, the person will have authored/edited the work(s)
search example:
Subject contains tolkien
AND Any field contains elves
- you can use quotations around the author's full name to search as a phrase, e.g., "c s lewis"
- other terms/phrases: interview, "literary criticism" (use quotations to search as a phrase)
- refine your search, e.g., available online, publication dates, peer-reviewed (if needed), resource type, subject(s)
- limits are on left side of the results page
- refining your search by subject(s) can help (left side - results page)
- sometimes one or two, at a time, works best
- selecting and accessing an article (or eBook) from your search results
- select article (or eBook) by clicking on the blue title
- on the following record
- see DETAILS for more information about the item
- under "View Online," select a database to access the article (or eBook)
- follow links to access
- selecting a print book from your search results
- select book by clicking on the blue title
- print book record
- see DETAILS for more information about the item
- check if it is available
- note the call # to locate the book
- note citation tool
