Selected Databases
- Gale OneFile:Popular Magazines This link opens in a new windowPopular Magazines includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts, transcripts and videos from reputable news sources.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly business journals, company reports by Datamonitor, industry profiles, case studies, and trade publications.
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of unlimited streaming video covering multiple disciplines.
How to Find an Article
How to Find an Article - See the second part of this guide for searching individual databases for articles.
Search Strategy - Shopping Behavior
example search:
men OR women OR gender
AND
"shopping habits" OR "consumer behavior" OR "gender materialism"
- capitalize OR, AND (see above example)
- you can further narrow your search by adding:
- country and nationality, e.g., mexico OR mexican
- terms: comparison OR differences
- refine your search results
Search Strategies - Cultural Differences
- Some strategies to try:
- keyword searches (words anywhere)::
- country name AND "manners & customs"
- country name AND etiquette
- kenya AND "social life & customs"
- france AND "description & travel"
- "united states" AND "food habits"
- mexico AND "food preferences"
- vietnam AND festivals
- brazil AND holidays
- iraq AND customs
- jamaica AND music
- keyword searches (words anywhere)::
SUNY Broome Library's Databases
- SUNY Broome Library's Database Lists
- check out the Databases by Subject list
Accessing SUNY Broome Library's E-Resources
When remotely accessing the Library's e-resources, you will get a SUNY Broome dialog box asking for your SUNY Broome (mycollege) username and password.